Samajwadi Party MLCs resigns from party

Samajwadi Party MLCs resigns from party

THREE MEMBERS of the Legislative Council (MLCs) in Uttar Pradesh - Bukkal Nawab and Yashwant Singh from the Samajwadi Party (SP) and Thakur Jaiveer Singh from the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) - resigned on Saturday, making way for three ministers of the Yogi Adityanath Cabinet.

There were reports that senior leaders tried to contact their respective MLCs - Bukkal Nawab and Yashwant Singh from SP and Thakur Jaiveer Singh from BSP - but in vain.

While speaking to the press, Nawab said that the Samajwadi Party should change its name to Samajwadi Akhaada (arena) since it has become a wrestling ground.

Bukkal Nawab, who is considered close to SP patron Mulayam Singh Yadav, claimed that some more SP MLCs could resign in the next few days. The resignations from the SP coincided with the arrival of Amit Shah in the state capital on a three-day visit to interact with party leaders. One BSP MLC also resigned from the party and the Vidhan Parishad.

Nawab, a Mulayam Singh Yadav loyalist, began extolling Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath saying that the two leaders were doing good work to implement sabka saath, sabka vikaas.

It's for BCCI to decide on women's IPL: Mithali
Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao praised the team for the brilliant performances they put up in their journey to the finals. You are a wonderful talent. "Next year, we have World Twenty20 and we will prepare for that as a team", she said.

Mr. Akhilesh Yadav accused the BJP of luring Opposition party MLCs through a "political conspiracy". "People are watching everything". If get an invite from the BJP, I will definitely consider it. He has said that he had been feeling "suffocated" since the last one year. "Are they afraid of going to the people?"

Talking about Nitish Kumar joining hands with the BJP in Bihar, Akhilesh Yadav mocked at Bihar CM and said,"People who spoke about DNA, now joined NDA".

In a statement, BSP president Mayawati said the BJPs "greed for power has turned into lust for power".

The former Chief Minister also indicated that the resignations of these three SP members had been taken to ensure a smooth entry of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, his two deputies Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma into the assembly before the deadline of six months. With these resignations, SP's strength in the Council will now be reduced to 63.

Related Articles